Cool, according to an email I received from “Tamra Gregg”, whose email address is apparently, um, my email address (though the email is signed “Maria DeMaria”), I have been approved “for a $402,000 house loan at a 3.45% Fixed R.ate.”
Actually, it’s not cool. I’ve been getting at least one, often two of these emails per day. The subject line is always some variation of “RE: We approved yours loan”. And they say they don’t care about my credit (maybe they’ll just break my legs if I don’t pay?). The whole thing bugs me. The grammar, the idea that anyone might be taken by these shysters who make impossible promises, and the deceptiveness involved at the level of the mail headers no less to fake the email addresses (I promise I have never sent an email under the pseudonym “Tamra Gregg”).
The email included 3 links to ‘bigsaveinc.com’. I did not click them because I don’t want to help these ***holes to think their email campaign is working, but I did head over and check out that website in my web browser.
The website has a picture of a palatial suburban McMansion alongside a form to fill out to apply for a quick loan. The house looked odd to me. I looked at it for a while to figure out why, and then I got it. It just looks eerily like the houses I saw in some new developments in Shanghai. Could they be using stock photos taken in China?
A quick whois search on the domain shows that it was registered at a Chinese domain registrar:
Domain Name: BIGSAVEINC.COM
Registrar: XIN NET TECHNOLOGY CORPORATION
Whois Server: whois.paycenter.com.cn
Referral URL: http://www.paycenter.com.cn
Name Server: DNS1.LOWCOSTMART.COM
Name Server: DNS2.LOWCOSTMART.COM
Status: ACTIVE
Updated Date: 21-jan-2006
Creation Date: 21-dec-2005
Expiration Date: 21-dec-2006
A search of the listed whois registrar for that server’s information times out:
whois -h whois.paycenter.com.cn bigsaveinc.com
whois: connect(): Operation timed out
So my guess would be that this website and these spam emails are coming straight from China. I wonder if that company can even run credit checks and offer loans to people in this country, you’d think there’d be regulatory hurdles that would be too high for small operators to manage. Maybe they’re just gathering information for some other nefarious purpose.
I’m just tired of receiving these emails. I’d almost be willing to proofread the emails for these spammers if they’d agree to stop sending them to me. It is so annoying to have a mailbox full of “We approved yours loan” messages. But then I’d feel complicit in their evil little game.
I wonder if their domain name can be shut down due to the inaccessibility of the site’s whois information.